Monday, 3 April 2017

One Way Ticket ~ Rachel Hargrove - A Detective Julia Sawyer Story - Debut thriller

 

Title - One Way Ticket

Author - Rachel Hargrove

Page - 202 pages

Buy Link - Click here

Synopsis -

Someone is murdering passengers on the express train to LA. He’s killed once already. It’s up to Detective Julia Sawyer to stop him before another innocent man dies, but her only clues are a severed ear and a one-way ticket. With limited resources and a serial killer running amok, It’s a race against time to find him—and his victims—before the commuter train becomes hell on wheels. The hunt is on, but can she find the killer without a body? An intense, gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller full of twists. Fans of James Patterson and Robert Dugoni will love this page-turner.



This book introduces us to Detective Julia Sawyer. This is the authors debut thriller.
The main storyline is set on a train. Julia is on leave from work and is off to visit her Dad. As you'd expect it's not going to be a smooth hassle free journey. This journey is certainly not that. There's been at least one murder and it's gruesome! It must mean the killer is still on the fast moving train. That very killer is taunting her.

I had an idea fairly on who the killer may be, although it wasn't quite as straightforward as that. There was another story unfolding alongside the murders, which was still linked to the events on the train. This was a serial killer and Julia was on her own.

This was a quick read of just over 200 pages. I didn't find it as gripping as I would have liked. It was a good plot but not thrilling. The potential is there but I just wasn't gripped.


I did like the main character though, Detective Julia Sawyer, and I think she has potential to be a great cop. So with that in mind, I look forward to reading all about her in her next case, "Wine & Die". Pre-Order here



ABOUT THE AUTHOR.

Rachel Hargrove is a 30 year old Seattleite who's spent her life with a pen in one hand and a book in the other. When she turned 26, she decided to give up her career in tech and dive headfirst into writing full-time. One way ticket is her first foray into writing thrillers. She loves to write fun, fast-paced thrillers that are impossible to put down.

Follow her here:-
Website // Facebook // Goodreads