Friday, 21 July 2017

Just For The Holidays by Sue Moorcroft -- Book Review & Q&A with the author - #Avon Books



TITLE - Just For The Holidays

AUTHOR - Sue Moorcroft

PUBLISHER - Avon Books

PAGES - 400 e-book

BUY LINK - Click here

SYNOPSIS 


The #1 bestselling author returns for summer! Grab your sun hat, a cool glass of wine, and the only book you need on holiday…

In theory, nothing could be better than a summer spent basking in the French sun. That is, until you add in three teenagers, two love interests, one divorcing couple, and a very unexpected pregnancy.

Admittedly, this isn’t exactly the relaxing holiday Leah Beaumont was hoping for – but it’s the one she’s got. With her sister Michele’s family falling apart at the seams, it’s up to Leah to pick up the pieces and try to hold them all together.

But with a handsome helicopter pilot staying next door, Leah can’t help but think she might have a few distractions of her own to deal with…

A glorious summer read, for you to devour in one sitting - perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.



MY REVIEW 

I wanted a nice cosy pool side read for my holidays, so the the title of this book sounded ideal. I was not disappointed.

I loved the characters in this book, especially the strong and independent Leah; Aunt; Sister; Best friend; lover and all round great girl. 
Leah was just the person you'd like as a friend. Just add to the mix a sexy man next door and you've got yourself a great read!  

The Author has obviously done a lot of research for this book, from the landing of a helicopter in an emergency situation, to the beautiful descriptions of the Gite and it's wonderful setting in Alsace. The region sounds incredible. The Authors' writing really brings the location alive, so much so, that you could almost believe you'd been there yourself! You'll want to add it to your bucket list of destinations to visit. 

The plot is a great mix of family trials and tribulations. There's a family drama around every corner. Love struck teenagers and tense affairs flow throughout. 

I thoroughly loved this read, and it was perfect for the poolside, just as I wanted it to be. This is another great book by Sue Moorcroft, who never fails to disappoint. It's a holiday must! 

UPDATE - I am pleased to say that this book has now just been given "Best Seller" Status on Amazon! 

My Q & A With Sue Moorcroft 

1. Do you read your book reviews? If so how do you deal with bad or good ones? That’s if you ever get any bad ones!

I do read book reviews, yes. I certainly check out any a book blogger takes the trouble to post. When a book’s freshly released then I view online reviews too. The good ones put a big smile on my face and I simply accept the bad ones. Anyone is entitled not to like my books – I don’t like every book I begin so how can I expect 100% love from others? I do prefer anyone being critical to be so for good reasons. The reviewer saying she hated the prologue when there is no prologue, or that she bought the book by mistake so is giving it one star doesn’t, for me, fall into the ‘reasoned’ category.

2. How do you select the names of your characters?

Most of them come out of my Dictionary of First Names or my ‘naming baby’ books. Sometimes I’ll hear a name and store it up to use. The names of my hero and heroine in my Christmas 2017 book, Give Me Till Christmas, came from gravestones!

3. What did you edit out of Just for the Holidays?


A lot of stuff about helicopters. As there’s a forced landing in Just for the Holidays a pilot offered to take me up and demonstrate autorotation, which every helicopter pilot needs to have at his/her command to get back to earth safely if the engine cuts out in mid-air. An account of this can be found in the bonus material at the end of the book but there was more about it in the book itself before I realised I was letting my research show.

4. What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book or do you do it as you go along?

It varies book to book but for Just for the Holidays I went to the French region of Alsace for four days to visit the city of Strasbourg and a nearby village. After a lot of networking I got an introduction to the pilot/owner of a helicopter maintenance company, Skytech, where I was able to research Ronan’s job and I was introduced to an aviation medical examiner and someone in aviation insurance. Leah’s job, in chocolate products, I was able to research largely online, but I spoke to somebody who has worked in product development kitchens too. I research at almost any point in the creation of a book.

5. What does literary success look like to you?

In commercial terms, top 10 for both ebook and paperback. I achieved #1 for The Christmas Promise ebook but that doesn’t mean I can do it again! In less obvious and simple terms, success is when someone says they’ve enjoyed a book I’ve written. If it kept them awake or if it got them through a bad time - even better!

6. If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Get on with it. Make sure you avoid the snakes and climb the ladders.

7. Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?


I write under my maiden name and keep my married name for family stuff. I would write under a pseudonym if there was a good reason, but I’m glad not to have had to, so far.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Best-selling author Sue Moorcroft writes contemporary fiction with occasionally unexpected
themes. The Christmas Promise rose to #1 in the Amazon Kindle chart; The Wedding Proposal, Dream a Little Dream and Is this Love? were all nominated for Readers’ Best Romantic Read Awards and Darcie’s Dilemma for Readers’ Best Short Romance. Love & Freedom won the Best Romantic Read Award 2011 and Dream a Little Dream was nominated for a RoNA in 2013. Sue’s a Katie Fforde Bursary Award winner, a past vice chair of the RNA and editor of its two anthologies.

Sue also writes short stories, serials, articles and writing ‘how to’. 

Catch up with Sue below:-

Website // Blog // Facebook // Facebook Author Page // Twitter // Google+:
LinkedIn: // Instagram // Goodreads // Take Five Authors