Thursday, 9 March 2017

Daisy James ~ Author of "There's Something About Cornwall" - & Prize draw @daisyjamesbooks

Today I'm welcoming Daisy James to my blog to talk about the importance of location's in her writing. This book is set in Cornwall. Check out her influences below and enter her prize draw too!  

TITLE - There's Something About Cornwall

AUTHOR - Daisy James

PAGES - Kindle Edition 203 pages

BUY LINK - Amazon UK

PERFECT FOR - Fans of Mandy Baggot, Christie Barlow and Zara Stoneley.

SYNOPSIS -
The new delightfully uplifting romantic comedy from Daisy James.

A knight in a shining camper van!

Life is far from picture perfect for food photographer, Emilie Roberts. Not only has her ex-boyfriend cheated on her, he’s also stolen her dream assignment to beautiful Venice! Instead, Emilie is heading to the wind-swept Cornish coast…

Emilie doesn’t think it can get any worse – until disaster strikes on the very first day! And there’s only one man to rescue this damsel in distress: extremely hunky surfing instructor, Matt Ashby.

Racing from shoot to shoot in a bright orange vintage camper van, Matt isn’t the conventional knight in shining armour – but can he make all of Emilie’s fairy tale dreams come true?


GUEST POST


There’s Something About Cornwall 

By 

Daisy James 

First of all, a huge thank you for featuring my brand new release – There’s Something About Cornwall - on your blog.

Location is always very important to me when I’m writing. It’s almost as though it’s another character that requires just as much attention, just as much crafting, as any other. My first novel – The Runaway Bridesmaid - was set in New York. I enjoyed an amazing trip there a couple of years ago, for a milestone birthday, except, instead of spending five exhilarating days taking in the sights, because of Hurricane Sandy we ended up being there for eleven. Everywhere was closed, even the Broadway shows, so I grabbed a pen and some paper and started writing and my first published novel was born.

When I began researching my fourth book, I wanted my characters to have a fabulous backdrop for their story, so it had to be Cornwall. The scenery is so beautiful and diverse, not to mention the fact that the sun always seems to be shining. There’s Something About Cornwall follows Emilie Roberts, a food photographer, who takes a culinary road trip around the whole county as she works on a photo shoot for a celebrity TV chef working on her next cookery book.

Emilie’s epic journey starts in Padstow where she meets Matt at a beach party. He becomes a last-minute replacement driver for an orange-and-cream vintage campervan they’ve nicknamed The Satsuma Splittie. There’s plenty of stops along the way and lots of baking and tasting of the delicious Cornish food that is being photographed.


Apple & Caramel Loaf
I wanted to showcase not only the local recipes, but also the wide array of artisan beverages that Cornwall is famous for. So, in Truro, they visit an apple orchard where Emilie photographs the Cornish Cyder Cake and Apple and Caramel Loaf, but they also indulge in a few pints of the local Scrumpy.


During my research, I was amazed to find that vineyards flourish on south-facing slopes and fabulous white and ros̩ wine is produced in Cornwall. The county is also the only place in England that grows tea РTregothnan Tea - it offers a whole new meaning to the label English Breakfast tea!


I also came across the Southwestern Distillery, run by Tarquin Leadbetter, which produces
Tamara Copper Still & Cornish Pastis 70-30
not only Cornish Gin but also Cornish Pastis. The pastis is a modern take on the classic French aperitif and the first of its kind created in the UK. It is made with gorse flowers foraged from the Atlantic clifftops and fresh orange zest finished off with a touch of liquorice root. Tarquin also grows his own Devon violets for use in his Tarquin’s Gin.

http://www.southwesterndistillery.com/

I hope readers will enjoy escaping to our southernmost county when they read There’s Something About Cornwall.

PRIZE DRAW

For a chance to win a book on the history of the much-loved, iconic camper van, a mug and a coaster, just follow Daisy James and retweet the pinned tweet. The prize will be drawn on 31st March 2017 (UK only).




ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Daisy James is a Yorkshire girl transplanted to the north east of England. She loves writing
stories with strong heroines and swift-flowing plotlines. When not scribbling away in her peppermint-and-green summerhouse (garden shed), she spends her time sifting flour and sprinkling sugar and edible glitter. Her husband and young son were willing samplers of her baking creations which were triple-tested for her debut novel, The Runaway Bridesmaid. She loves gossiping with friends over a glass of something pink and fizzy or indulging in a spot of afternoon tea – china plates and teacups are a must.

Daisy would love to hear from readers via her Facebook page or you can follow her on Twitter @daisyjamesbooks, especially if they have given any of the recipes in her book a whirl… photos are very welcome.

Daisy James links:

BuyLinks: http://buff.ly/2kQhrmp

Twitter: https://twitter.com/daisyjamesbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daisyjamesbooks/


Also on Instagram.