Thursday, 3 November 2016

Guest Blog, Giveaway & Book Review ~ The Christmas Promise - Sue Moorcroft

 
I'd like to welcome Author Sue Moorcroft to my blog today. Sue has her new book out The Christmas Promise, so I invited her to come a long and be a guest on my blog. I've also read and reviewed the book and have shared it below. Her blog post is an interesting one about something that happens just twice a year. Please read on .....................

TITLE - The Christmas Promise

AUTHOR - Sue Moorcroft

PURCHASE LINK - click
here

BOOK BLURB from Amazon

‘I love all of Sue Moorcroft’s books!’ KATIE FFORDE

Countdown to Christmas with your new must-have author, as you step into the wonderful world of bespoke hat-maker Ava Bliss…

For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember…

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.

Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…

Curl up with this gorgeous, festive read – the perfect treat for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.





MY REVIEW

I'm not a big Christmas lover. I hate the commercialism of it all. I do however love the Family closeness of the day itself (when I'm not working). One thing I do love though is a cosy Christmas novel, and this book was no exception. 

This book centres around Ava Bliss, who I instantly warmed to. She lives with her best friend Izz, who has a successful job, whereas life isn't going too well for Ava. Ava is trying unsuccessfully to have her couture Millinery business taken seriously, and is struggling financially. 

This book has several different aspects to it. There is the modern day crime of Sextortion, which to me was well researched; then there is the subject of terminal illness (several tears shed here); then there is the world of the couture milliner. I learnt a lot about millinery from the book, and again it shows a lot of research must have gone into this book.;

So many different emotions were packed into this book and I couldn't put it down, reading it until the early hours.

I won't say what the Christmas Promise was for fear of spoiling the story, so you'll have to find out for yourself, however it's a promise you'll want to be a part of.






GUEST BLOG by Sue Moorcroft. 

The Changing of the Clocks

Did you have an extra hour in bed on Saturday night? Or add an extra hour to your day on Sunday?
In the UK, as in many parts of the world, twice a year ‘our clocks are changed’. Now it will be lighter earlier in the mornings but darkness will come sooner in the evenings. To celebrate this official beginning to wintertime I thought I’d share a few facts:

The UK has just left British Summertime and we’re now on Greenwich Mean Time.

The other name for British Summertime is Daylight Saving Time.

As if to celebrate the onset of Winter along with the clocks, The Christmas Promise entered the Kindle Top 100 on Sunday morning!

We’ll get British Summertime back at 1am on March 26th 2017. (I’m looking forward to this already. I’m a summertime person).


Changing the clocks was first suggested by William Willett in 1907 and he campaigned for his scheme to be implemented until his death in 1915. Germany went first, in April 1916, and we followed suit in May after passing The Summertime Act 1916. WWI was underway, of course, and making use of daylight helped the economy.

The first short story I sold was to The People’s Friend in 1996 and concerned the clocks going forward in spring. It just took one person to forget to change his watch and I had a plot! Luckily, mobile phones that change automatically were not in every pocket at that time.


 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway